We are proud to announce the shortlist for the 5th AfriSamSouth African Institute of Architects (SAIA) Award for Sustainable Architecture and Innovation.

This comes after the six-member adjudication panel received a record number of entries across the four categories: Sustainable Architecture, Research in Sustainability, Sustainable Products and Technology &Sustainable Social Programmes.

After thorough assessments and on-site inspections, 14 entries made it to the final round of the 2017/18AfriSam-SAIA Award. These finalists will attend a prestigious gala event on 26 October 2018 at the Zeitz MOCAA where the winners will be announced.

The shortlisted projects are:

  • Category A – Sustainable Architecture
    • Northcliff House: Architecture for a Change (A4aC)
    • Khayelitsha Shared Services Office Building: ACG Architects and Development Planners/Ngonyama Okpanum Associates
    • House Burnett Prinsloo: Robert de Jager
    • Fulham Heights: Local Studio (Pty) Ltd
    • House Gardiner: Simply Sustainable
    • RBIDZ Entrance Gate: Jeremy Steere Architect
    • Johannesburg Holocaust and Genocide Centre: Lewis Levin Architect
  • Category B – Research in Sustainability
    • A framework for a green infrastructure planning approach in the Gauteng City-Region: Gauteng City – Region Observatory
  • Category C – Sustainable Products & Technology
    • Rambrick: Use It Waste Beneficiation (RF) NPC
    • hearScreen: hearX Group
  • Category D – Sustainable Social Programmes
    • Malawi Church: A4aC Architects
    • Silindokuhle Preschool: Collectif saga
    • The Wilds – revitalising a forgotten public space: James Delaney
    • Table House: Noero Architects cc/rainer hehl

These entrants demonstrated sound sustainable practices and responded to innovative architectural and design thinking in the field of sustainability. The entries also complied with the criteria of harmonisation, people upliftment, evolutionary paradigm and placemaking performance.

The adjudicators for the 2017/18 Awards are Maryke Cronje (architect and President of the SAIA), Dr Sechaba Maape (sustainability architecture academic and architect), Philippa Tumubweinee (academic and co-founder of IZUBA INafrica Architects), Niraksha Singh (AfriSam Raw Materials and Sustainability Manager), Dr Emmanuel Nkambule (academic with particular interest in the social environment) and Richard Stretton (founder of architecture and furniture design studio Koop Design).

The AfriSam-SAIA Award recognises contributions that bring sustainable innovation to living environments through an integrated approach to communities, planning, design, architecture, building practice, natural systems, and technology.

More information on the shortlisted projects and the award ceremony will be provided soon.