Our Mission

TheĀ AfriSam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture + Innovation recognises contributions that bring sustainable innovation to living environments through an integrated approach to communities, planning, design, architecture, building practice, natural systems and technology.

We believe collaboration benefits everyone.

Judging Criteria

Judges look at five main criteria that entries must demonstrate. These are:

  • Harmonisation
  • People Upliftment
  • Evolutionary Paradigm
  • Placemaking Performance
  • Leadership

Project entries should demonstrate how they embody sound sustainable practices, that bear the hallmarks of great architectural or social design and innovative thinking in the field of sustainability, to improve our world.

Apart from recognising excellence in Sustainable Architecture and Research in Sustainability, we also consider entries that make innovative contributions to the fields of Sustainable Products and Technology and Sustainable Social Programmes.