The AfriSam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture + Innovation is set to honour the best in sustainable architecture, research and innovation at a prestigious gala event that will take place at the Zeitz MOCAA on 26 October.

The six-member adjudication panel received a record number of entries across four categories and, after thorough assessments and on-site inspections, fourteen entries made it to the final round.

The MCs of the event are Dr Sechaba Maape from the Wits School of Architecture and Planning, and Dr Phillipa Tumubweinee, co-founder of IZUBA INafrica Architects and two-time committee member of the biennial festival Architecture ZA.

Winners will receive trophies designed by Laurie Wiid. The trophies are inspired by the four judging criteria, namely harmonisation, people upliftment, evolutionary paradigm and placemaking performance. The iconic, minimalist design is made of cork, a renewable sustainable material, as well as concrete to represent AfriSam.

Watch this space for the winner announcements and news from the event.