The awarded projects in the 2015/2016 AfriSam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture + Innovation will be revealed on October 27th in Cape Town.

This highlight of the South African architectural calendar will take place in a venue adjacent to the Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa at the V&A Waterfront. Commended projects will also be announced at the evening event which is set to be attended by representatives of the twenty two final qualifying entries as well as members of the industry.

“Our award evening is always a fantastic way of showcasing AfriSam’s belief in Creating Concrete Possibilities,” says AfriSam’s Sebasti Badenhorst.

“This year’s qualifying entries provide a look into the possibilities of sustainable architecture and innovation – and, in so doing, provide inspiration for all elements of the value chain, from architects to the construction industry, educational institutions and those involved in research, technology and product development.”

The bi-annual AfriSam-SAIA Award for Sustainable Architecture + Innovation is South Africa’s leading award dedicated to acknowledging best practice and innovation in sustainable architecture. Its aim is to promote and increase learning and understanding of sustainability within the context of the human built environment. The four categories of the award are Sustainable Architecture, Research in Sustainability, Sustainable Products and Technology and Sustainable Social Programmes

Among the final qualifying entries is a trio of key environmentally-rooted projects – Architecture Coop’s Oudebosch Camp in the Kogelberg Nature Reserve, Alive Architecture’s WWF SA building in Braamfontein and Boogertman+Partners Architects’ Department Of Environmental Affairs building in Pretoria. The recognition given to the three projects underscores the growing importance of sustainability and innovation in the tourism and travel and conservation sectors – as well as those where environmentalism more broadly plays a part.

The final qualifying entries have also revealed a growing role for sustainability and innovation in education and community projects.

Local Studio’s African School of Excellence, Designworkshop’s LIV Village, The Workplace Architects with GAPP’s New Business School for NMMU, Local Studio’s Outreach Foundation Community Centre, Kate Otten Architects’ Wits Rural Facility, Architecture for a Change’s Malawi School and BuildCollectiveNPO with Carinthia University of Applied Science’s Bridging Mzamba all powerfully fulfill the award criteria of Harmonisation, People Upliftment, Evolutionary Paradigm and Placemaking Performance.

Click here to find the list of final qualifying entries up for the awards at the end of the month.